Anne Marie Duvall Decker Announced as 2022 Design Awards Jury Chair

Anne Marie Duvall Decker, FAIA, founding principal of Duvall Decker Architects, will serve as the jury chair for the 2022 Design Awards program.

About the Design Awards

The Design Awards recognize outstanding design, built and unbuilt, from the past eight years. The location of projects is not restricted, but any built works submitted for consideration must have been completed after January 1, 2015. The entry deadline is June 28, 2022.

Each entry will be judged on how successful the project is in meeting its individual requirements. Consideration is given to aesthetics, social impact, innovation, context, performance, and stewardship of the natural environment — with particular emphasis on the Framework for Design Excellence.

The Design Awards program is sponsored by:

The Three Aspens

The Garland Company

About Anne Marie Duvall Decker, FAIA

Anne Marie Duvall Decker, FAIA, with her partner, Roy Decker, FAIA, founded Duvall Decker in Jackson, Mississippi — a place defined by both palpable need and engaging culture. The firm is a diverse and expanded practice, employing planning, development, design, and building care to promote the quality of the built environment and the health and well-being of its inhabitants. Duvall Decker delivers design excellence and promotes social, economic, and environmental quality, no matter the scope, type, budget, or scale of the project.

Anne Marie pursues a meaningful public architecture that elevates the individual human experience. She has designed award-winning public schools, affordable housing, state institutions, libraries, and university buildings that embrace their physical surrounds and cultural traditions with innovation and invention. She is the leader in the studio, fostering design quality, detailing building construction, making exemplary construction documents, and finding ways to be efficient and have joy in the work.  

Anne Marie Duvall Decker, FAIA, received a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Mississippi State University. She is a recognized contributor to the advancement of the profession. She has served as a board member and past President of AIA Mississippi and as a trustee and past Chair of the AIA Trust. Anne Marie is often invited to share the firm’s work and her experience as a lecturer, critic, teacher, and design juror, most recently serving as Visiting Professor of Practice at the University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design. She has served on the jury for the 2018 AIA Institute Honor Awards for Architecture and as a selection committee member for the Architectural League of New York’s American Roundtable initiative. Most recently, she serves the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations as an Industry Advisory Group Peer.

2014 Design Awards Jury Announced

The Virginia Society AIA announces the jury chairs for the 2014 Awards for Excellence in Architecture. For 2014 there are five categories in the Awards for Excellence: Architecture, Historic Preservation, Interior Design, Contextual Design, and Residential Design. Entries will be accepted through 5 p.m. June 27 and project submissions are due by 5 p.m. on July 25.  See the Call for Entries for descriptions of each of the 5 awards categories. 

Ray Calabro, FAIA
Principal, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
In his nearly 20-year career with Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Ray Calabro’s work has emphasized the relationship of a building to its surrounding landscape. He believes that architecture is a thoughtful response to the culture and spirit of each place. This vision and commitment is most clearly demonstrated by the award-winning Grand Teton Discovery and Visitor in Jackson, Wyoming. Calabro regularly leads the Bohlin Cywinski Jackson team in a collaborative design process to achieve extraordinary, award-winning buildings including visitor centers, corporate headquarters, academic buildings for science and research, and private residences across the western United States and Canada.

Calabro frequently speaks at regional, national and international design conferences, and serves as a juror and design critic at leading schools of architecture and design.

Jean Carroon, FAIA
Principal, Goody Clancy
Jean Carroon leads Goody Clancy’s extensive preservation and renovation practice. She has received national recognition for her special expertise in applying sustainable design technology to historic buildings and has been appointed to Boston mayor Menino’s Green Building Task Force and the Advisory Board of the Green Roundtable’s Nexus Green Building Resource Center. Her book, Sustainable Preservation: Greening Existing Buildings, was published in 2010 by John Wiley & Sons. She is also a recognized expert in the design of accessibility solutions for historic buildings. She has led Goody Clancy’s restoration of some of the most distinguished landmark buildings in the country, including H.H. Richardson’s Trinity Church in Boston. She has also directed the renovation of a number of venerated buildings on historic university campuses throughout New England.

Carroon lectures frequently on preservation and sustainable design topics to local and national audiences, including the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. She has participated in panels and symposia for the General Services Administration, AIA Livable Communities, the Association for Preservation Technology, and the Green Building Alliance, and is a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation Sustainability Coalition. She earned a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Architecture at the University of Oregon.

Awards are presented each November at Architecture Exchange East. Winning projects are also honored during the Visions for Architecture gala, in Inform magazine, and serve as the subject of an annual exhibition at the Virginia Center for Architecture.

The 2014 Awards for Excellence in Architecture are sponsored by Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas + CompanyGeoEnvironmental Resources, and Jack Davis, FAIA.

Enter the 2014 Design Awards>>