Region of The Virginias

Paula Loomis, FAIA

Paula Loomis, FAIA

Every AIA member in Virginia and West Virginia is a member of the Region of the Virginias and is represented on the AIA Strategic Council by a Regional Director.  The Regional Director voices the concerns of our two-state region in national AIA policy discussions and is our conduit for information to and from our national component.   Paula Loomis, FAIA, is the current Regional Director.

Paula J. Loomis, FAIA, FSAME, LEED BD&C, PMP, CPHC, is the Sustainability Program Manager for the US Army Corps of Engineers providing sustainability policy, technical assistance, and training to USACE engineering and construction worldwide.  She has 34 years with the Air Force (AF), Army, Navy and General Services Administration. She was the Command Architect for Air Combat Command and Deputy in the AF’s Base Transition Office for BRAC 2005. In the private sector, she started the EDAW Virginia Beach office and taught architecture at Hampton University.

Her service to the AIA has been extensive. She was President of AIA Hampton Roads; served on AIA Virginia Board of Directors, the national Public Architects Knowledge Community Advisory Committee, the national AIA Board Knowledge Committee, and national juries; elevated to the AIA College of Fellows; selected to serve on the selection committee for the AIA College of Fellows from 2008-2011; and elected to the AIA National Board for 2014-2016.

Below you’ll find updates on Regional activity.

December 2016


Regional Directors

1986-1989     Paul H. Barkley, FAIA

1989-1992     Francis R. Guffey, FAIA

1992-1995     Joseph J. Wisnewski, FAIA

1995-1998      Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA

1998-2001     Richard L. Ford, Jr., FAIA

2001-2004     Robert E. Middlebrooks, AIA

2004-2007     Michel C. Ashe, FAIA

2007-2010     Edward W. Tucker, AIA

2010-2013     Mary Patton Cox, FAIA

2013- 2016    Paula J. Loomis, FAIA, FSAME, LEED BD&C, PMP, CPHC

2016-2019     Brian Frickie, AIA

Membership News

Professional Development News

Government Advocacy News

  • Not-So-Good PAC Fact

    Our voice is only a whisper at the table because the PACs of chicken farmers dwarf ours.

Virginia Accord

  • The Virginia Accord

    Bringing together the planning and design disciplines to examine two key themes critical to the future — job creation and environmental sustainability — on Sept. 19-20, 2014 at the Virginia Accord.