Awards for Excellence

AIA Virginia’s Awards for Excellence in Architecture recognize outstanding design, built and unbuilt, from the past eight years. Also known as the Design Awards, the program is juried by a team of esteemed practitioners. No specific number of awards is set, and the program is open to all categories of building as well as interiors projects. All entries must be the work of architects who have an office in Virginia OR are members of AIA Virginia.

Entries for the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Architecture are being accepted through June 15, 2017.  AIA Virginia accepts entries online. Note: You should be prepared to submit your concealed ID and project submission upon entry.

There are five categories in the Awards for Excellence: Architecture, Historic Preservation, Interior Design, Contextual Design, and Residential Design. See descriptions of the awards categories.

Awards certificates are presented each November at Architecture Exchange East, AIA Virginia’s annual conference. They are also honored during the Visions for Architecture gala, and serve as the subject of an annual exhibition at The Branch Museum of Architecture and Design.

Please see the complete regulations, eligibility requirements, and frequently asked questions for more information.

See the 2012  honorees, 2013 honorees, 2014 honorees, 2015 honorees and 2016 honorees.

Questions? Contact or call (804) 237-1768.


Membership News

  • Your AIA Depends on You

    This organization belongs to the membership, advocates and works on behalf of the membership, and is dependent on vital contributions of time and energy from the membership.

Professional Development News

  • 2018 Class Project

    This year’s class of the Emerging Leaders in Architecture (ELA) program project will focus on the 10th & Page neighborhood of Charlottesville.

Government Advocacy News

Virginia Accord

  • The Virginia Accord

    Bringing together the planning and design disciplines to examine two key themes critical to the future — job creation and environmental sustainability — on Sept. 19-20, 2014 at the Virginia Accord.