AIA Virginia honors work done by Virginia-based architects with the 2018 Awards for Excellence in Architecture. Also known as the Design Awards, these honors celebrate projects no older than seven years that contribute to the built environment and are clear examples of thoughtful, engaging design. This year’s jury has identified two Honor Awards, thirteen Merit Awards, and one Honorable Mention. Award categories include Architecture, Contextual Design, Residential Design, Interior Design and Historic Preservation.

About the Jury
Jury Chair: Paul Schulhof, partner at Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
Adam Yarinsky, FAIA LEED AP, founding Principal of ARO (Architecture Research Office) in New York City.
Sara Grant, AIA, LEED AP, partner at Murphy Burnham & Buttrick in New York City.
Miriam Kelly, RIBA, ARB, AABC, Senior Associate at the firm Beyer Blinder Belle in New York City.
Maitland Jones, AIA, LEED AP, partner at Deborah Berke Partners in New York City.

(image gallery follows)

In the ARCHITECTURE category

The jury considers aesthetics, adherence to the client’s wishes, proven and projected building performance and concept development during its deliberations.

Architecture Honor Award Recipient:

The Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center of Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.) by hays+ewing design studio, pc (Charlottesville, Va.)

The Jury noted that they were “enamored by The Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center’selegance of detail and deep respect for its context. The project achieves a striking balance with a strong form that remains deferential to its landscape, and should be commended for the difficulty inherent in achieving this.”

Architecture Merit Award Recipients:

  • University of Chicago, Campus North Residence Hall and Dining (Chicago, Il.) by Hanbury
  • University of Pennsylvania Stephen A. Levin Building for Neural and Behavioral Sciences (Philadelphia, Pa.) by SmithGroup (Washington, D.C.)
  • Brooks Family YMCA (Charlottesville, Va.) by VMDO Architects (Charlottesville, Va.)
  • The Kipp Columbus Batelle Environmental Center (Columbus, Oh.) by Flansburgh Architects (Richmond, Va.)
  • Institute for Contemporary Art at the Markel Center (Richmond, Va.) by BCWH Architects (Richmond, Va.)

Architecture Honorable Mention Recipients:


The awards for contextual design are chosen based on outstanding architecture that perceptibly reflects the history, culture, and physical environment of the place in which it stands and that, in turn, contributes to the function, beauty, and meaning of its larger context.

Contextual Merit Award Recipients:


Aesthetic appeal and functionality are two long-established criteria for home design as are affordability and resource efficiency. The jury looks at each submission in its totality toward meeting those goals.

Residential Design Merit Award Recipient:


The historic preservation category focuses specifically on excellence in strategies, tactics, and technologies that advance the art, craft, and science of preserving historically significant buildings and sites. The jury takes into consideration adherence to local, state, and national criteria for historic preservation.

Historic Preservation Honor Award Recipient:

Historic Dome Restoration, United States Capitol (Washington, D.C.) by Hoffmann Architects, Inc. (Arlington, Va.)
The jury notes “This restoration shows evidence of best practices in preservation for one of the most important buildings in America. Its research and technical practice is a model that serves as a testament to the relevance and importance of the historic preservation discipline in Architecture.”

Historic Preservation Merit Award Recipient:

In the INTERIOR DESIGN category

Interior design projects are judged on mastery of composition, functionality, material and color palettes, and well-integrated adherence to the highest levels of accessibility, health and safety, environmental, and occupant-comfort considerations, standards, and regulations.

Interior Design Merit Award Recipients: