AIA Virginia Announces 2023 Design Awards Jury 

A committee of esteemed architects chaired by Ray Calabro, FAIA, will judge the entries for AIA Virginia’s 2023 Awards for Excellence in Architecture. Joining Calabro on the jury are Jennifer Devlin-Herbert, FAIA; Omar Gandhi, FRAAC; and Karen Lu, AIA. These annual awards recognize outstanding design, built and unbuilt, from the past seven years. Also known as the Design Awards, the program is open to all categories of building as well as interiors projects.  
The awards program is currently open for submissions. Each entry will be judged on how successful the project is in meeting its individual requirements. Consideration is given to aesthetics, social impact, innovation, context, performance, and stewardship of the natural environment — with particular emphasis on the Framework for Design Excellence. Deadline for entries is 5 p.m. on June 28, 2023. 

About Ray Calabro, FAIA

Calabro is a principal of the Pennsylvania firm Bohlin Cywinski Jackson. Educated at Virginia Tech (B. Arch., 1994), he began his career there as a lecturer in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies. Since joining Bohlin Cywinski Jackson in 1995, Ray’s project experience spans academic, cultural, commercial and residential projects in the continental U.S. and Canada. In 2014, he was elevated to the College of Fellows. 

About Jennifer Devlin-Herbert, FAIA

Devlin-Herbert, of San Francisco’s EHDD, was the firm’s first woman partner, and is now its first woman CEO. She is a distinguished design leader for evolving trends in learning environments across multiple project types, from educational spaces to science centers and libraries. Throughout a career spanning 30 years, her rich portfolio includes projects that reflect an unwavering commitment to her clients. Her work has been recognized with a National AIA Honor Award for Design.   

About Omar Gandhi, FRAAC

Gandhi is the Principal of Omar Gandhi Architects, a Canadian architectural practice with small teams in both Halifax and Toronto. He was chosen as one of the Architectural League of New York’s ‘Emerging Voices’ of 2016 and in 2018 was appointed the Louis I. Kahn Visiting Assistant Professorship in Architectural Design at the Yale School of Architecture. Gandhi was made a Fellow of the Royal Architectural Association of Canada in 2022.  

About Karen Lu, AIA, NOMA

Lu is an Associate Principal at Snow Kreilich Architects in Minneapolis. Her commitment to design excellence and to positively impacting future generations of architecture professionals and global citizens is evident in her professional work and service to the AIA and her community. She is currently the AIA Strategic Council Minnesota Representative and a board adviser to MSP NOMA.

2014 Design Awards Jury Announced

The Virginia Society AIA announces the jury chairs for the 2014 Awards for Excellence in Architecture. For 2014 there are five categories in the Awards for Excellence: Architecture, Historic Preservation, Interior Design, Contextual Design, and Residential Design. Entries will be accepted through 5 p.m. June 27 and project submissions are due by 5 p.m. on July 25.  See the Call for Entries for descriptions of each of the 5 awards categories. 

Ray Calabro, FAIA
Principal, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
In his nearly 20-year career with Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Ray Calabro’s work has emphasized the relationship of a building to its surrounding landscape. He believes that architecture is a thoughtful response to the culture and spirit of each place. This vision and commitment is most clearly demonstrated by the award-winning Grand Teton Discovery and Visitor in Jackson, Wyoming. Calabro regularly leads the Bohlin Cywinski Jackson team in a collaborative design process to achieve extraordinary, award-winning buildings including visitor centers, corporate headquarters, academic buildings for science and research, and private residences across the western United States and Canada.

Calabro frequently speaks at regional, national and international design conferences, and serves as a juror and design critic at leading schools of architecture and design.

Jean Carroon, FAIA
Principal, Goody Clancy
Jean Carroon leads Goody Clancy’s extensive preservation and renovation practice. She has received national recognition for her special expertise in applying sustainable design technology to historic buildings and has been appointed to Boston mayor Menino’s Green Building Task Force and the Advisory Board of the Green Roundtable’s Nexus Green Building Resource Center. Her book, Sustainable Preservation: Greening Existing Buildings, was published in 2010 by John Wiley & Sons. She is also a recognized expert in the design of accessibility solutions for historic buildings. She has led Goody Clancy’s restoration of some of the most distinguished landmark buildings in the country, including H.H. Richardson’s Trinity Church in Boston. She has also directed the renovation of a number of venerated buildings on historic university campuses throughout New England.

Carroon lectures frequently on preservation and sustainable design topics to local and national audiences, including the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. She has participated in panels and symposia for the General Services Administration, AIA Livable Communities, the Association for Preservation Technology, and the Green Building Alliance, and is a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation Sustainability Coalition. She earned a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Architecture at the University of Oregon.

Awards are presented each November at Architecture Exchange East. Winning projects are also honored during the Visions for Architecture gala, in Inform magazine, and serve as the subject of an annual exhibition at the Virginia Center for Architecture.

The 2014 Awards for Excellence in Architecture are sponsored by Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas + CompanyGeoEnvironmental Resources, and Jack Davis, FAIA.

Enter the 2014 Design Awards>>