The AIA Virginia’s Awards for Excellence in Architecture recognize outstanding design, built and unbuilt, from the past eight years. Also known as the Design Awards, the program is juried by a team of esteemed practitioners. No specific number of awards is set, and the program is open to all categories of building as well as interiors projects. The location of projects is not restricted, but any built works submitted for consideration must have been completed after January 1, 2010.

For 2017 there are five categories in the Awards for Excellence:

  • Architecture
  • Historic Preservation
  • Interiors
  • Contextual Design; and
  • Residential Design.

Please see complete descriptions of the awards categories, and review the regulations, eligibility requirements, and frequently asked questions for more information.

Entries are due by 5 p.m. on June 15, 2017. Note: You should be prepared to submit your concealed ID and project submission upon entry.

Awards certificates are presented each November at Architecture Exchange East (ArchEx). Designers and projects are also honored during the Visions for Architecture gala and serve as the subject of an annual exhibition at ArchEx and The Branch Museum of Architecture and Design.

Thank you to Keith Fabry Reprographic Solutions for sponsoring the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Architecture.

Want to take advantage of the member discount? Become and unassigned member of AIA Virginia. Contact Cathy Guske, Member Services Director at or (804) 237-1763.

Leave a Reply