The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is elevating 115 member-architects to its prestigious College of Fellows — an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession. AIA Virginia welcomes four new Fellows who will be celebrated at the Region of The VirginiasFellows Fête on March 23, 2019 and honored at a ceremony at A’19 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Meet Virginia’s New Fellows

Manoj Dalaya, FAIA

While logic and planning serve as the foundation for collaboration in the design process, artistic intention is essential in Manoj Dalaya’s approach to design. His high-performance, fortified spaces embrace art, environment, and community — all while integrating the security, infrastructure, and technological requirements of secure campuses. A principal at KGD Architecture, Dalaya serves on the AIA Northern Virginia Chapter Executive Committee and chairs their Design Awards Committee. He lends his architectural and real estate expertise to several Washington, D.C. area urban development committees and to architecture and real estate students at local universities. He was honored with AIA Virginia’s Award for Distinguished Achievement in 2018.

Jody Lahendro, FAIA

For nearly fifteen years, Jody Lahendro has served as Historic Preservation Architect at the University of Virginia where he manages work on more than 120 designated historic buildings — including the Academical Village designed by Thomas Jefferson.  Notably, he recently managed the award-winning Rotunda Renovation project.  Prior to time at UVA, Lahendro had his own architectural practice in Richmond for 18 years, specializing in historic preservation, restoration, and adaptive reuse.  He also served as preservation architect for the Taliesin Preservation Commission as it began its charge to preserve Frank Lloyd Wright’s home in Spring Green, Wisconsin.  Lahendro’s public service includes volunteer positions with local and state governments, non-profit organizations, and pro bono assistance to non-profits owning historic buildings. 

Burt Pinnock, FAIA

A Principal with Baskervill, Burt Pinnock has been a profound voice for creative, compelling, and responsible design in Richmond’s urban landscape. Once the Capital of the Confederacy and an epicenter of the nation’s slave trade, Richmond was also home to thriving, independent black communities. His body of work spans projects that seek to preserve and integrate those distinct identities into a more complete version that is contextual to both time and space. Burt has also served on a number of boards and commissions, including the Board of Zoning Appeals, Commission of Architectural Review, Urban Design Committee, Richmond Slave Trail Commission, LISC Advisory Board, Historic Richmond Foundation, Venture Richmond, and many more. He is also the creator and co-founder of Storefront for Community Design, a nonprofit that creates access to architecture and design services while also facilitating community engagement workshops for development efforts throughout the city.

Nick Vlattas, FAIA

Nick Vlattas is one of the founding shareholders in 1979 of Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas + Company. Now known as Hanbury, the firm has been a respected voice in the planning, architecture, and interior design professions across the United States and abroad. The practice is based on a willingness to listen and learn, exploring transformational ideas with colleagues, clients, and consultants. This approach has garnered the recognition of both design and industry-specific award programs. As Chief Operations Officer, Secretary/Treasurer, Trustee, and architect at Hanbury, Nick has been responsible for quality of operations, financial management, human resources, and information technology. Nick served as President of AIA Hampton Roads, and on the Board of Directors for AIA Virginia for many years including serving as President in 2016 and Treasurer from 2010 to 2014. He is also a charter member of the Rotary Club of Oyster Point in Newport News.

About Fellowship

The fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following areas:

  • Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession;
  • Promoted the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice;
  • Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA or other related professional organizations; or​
  • Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. This year’s jury included (Virginia’s own) Mary P. Cox, FAIA, Virginia Commonwealth University, who served as Chair; Peter Bardwell, FAIA, Bardwell + Associates, LLC; Mary A. Burke, FAIA, Burke Design & Architecture PLLC; Philip Castillo, FAIA, Jahn; Mary Johnston, FAIA, Johnston Architects, LLC; Paul Mankins, FAIA, Substancearchitecture; and Nancy Rogo Trainer, FAIA, Drexel University.