2020 NCARB President’s Medalists
for Distinguished Service

Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA

Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA, of Massanutten, VA, is recognized for her outstanding leadership of both the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA). As interim executive director of the NAAB, Dreiling led the organization through a period of critical reflection and restructuring. Her efforts transformed the NAAB and built lasting partnerships both within and outside the realm of architectural education. Her commitment to efficiency and professionalism facilitated a new dynamic with NCARB, its staff, and its volunteers. In addition, Dreiling was elected the 90th president of the AIA after over 18 years of service with the organization. During her tenure in 2014, she oversaw a repositioning of the organization with a focus on cultural transformation, while also promoting efforts to support students, emerging professionals, and young architects.

The highest honor bestowed upon architectural professionals by NCARB—the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service—is awarded each year to individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions and dedication to the Council and the architectural profession.

2020 Laudatories

NCARB wishes to express its sincere appreciation to Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA for her invaluable contributions to the Board of Directors, the Council and its mission, and the regulation of the architecture profession.

Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA
Helene Combs Dreiling stepped away from her role as the interim executive director of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) after leading the organization through a critical restructure, re-energizing its focus on the accreditation of architecture education programs, and strengthening the relationship between NAAB and the Council. She helped guide the development of the groundbreaking 2019 Accreditation Review Forum, ensuring the contributions and collaboration of each of the five collateral organizations for the betterment of the education continuum. NCARB President Terry Allers is awarding Dreiling the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service in 2020.