As the AIA Virginia’s most prestigious public award, the Architecture Medal for Virginia Service honors an individual or an organization — not an architect or an architecture firm — that has made an unusually significant contribution to Virginia’s built environment or to our understanding and awareness of the built environment.

Only one medal may be bestowed each year, but it may be given simultaneously to more than one person.

Potential honorees include (but aren’t limited to):
Civic Activists
Code Officials
Legislators and Politicians
Planners and Developers
Preservationists, Archivists, and Researchers

Evaluative Criteria
Consideration is given to:

  • The nominees’ regional and statewide contributions and impact;
  • The nominee’s efforts must be Virginia-based, a model for other efforts, and have statewide value;
  • The nominee’s length of service and type of activities.

Submission Materials

  • Nomination form
  • A complete vita or history (if an organization)
  • A nominator’s statement , of no more than one page,  addressing how the nominee meets the evaluative criteria
  • Supporting materials and images, where appropriate
  • At least three letters of support

Submissions should be no larger than 15MB and no more than 20 pages long (not including letters of support).

Click here to submit.

Past Recipients

1984   Carlisle Humelsine, Chairman of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

1985   Leslie Cheek, Jr., former Director, Virginia Museum, Richmond

1986   Sidney and Frances Lewis, Best Products Co., Inc., Richmond

Paul and Rachel Mellon, Upperville

1987   David P. Reynolds, Chairman of the Board, Reynolds Metals Company, Richmond

1989   Ronald B. Carrier Ph.D., President, James Madison University, Harrisonburg

1990   Gerald L. Baliles, Former Governor, Commonwealth of Virginia; Jeannie C. Baliles

1991   Mary Tyler Cheek McClenahan, civic activist, Richmond

1992   Noel C. Taylor, former Mayor, City of Roanoke

1993   Daniel P. Jordan, Executive Director, Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation, Charlottesville

1994   Robert E. Simon, Reston, Developer of Reston

1995   Jean R. Packard, Civic Activist, Fairfax

1996   Clinton Webb, Historic Preservationist and Philanthropist, Richmond

1997   Ambassador Walter L. Rice and Inger Rice

1998   Lee Stuart Cochran, Staunton

1999   Charles R. Longsworth, Colonial Williamsburg

2000   Mary Lily Wiley, Middleburg

2001   Lora M. Robins, Richmond

2004   John T. Casteen III, Charlottesville

2006   John W. Braymer, Ph.D., Hon. AIA, Richmond

2007   Tony P. Wrenn, Hon. AIA, Danville

2008   Charles F. Bryan, Jr., Ph.D., Richmond

2010   Hunter J. Smith and the late Carl W. Smith, Charlottesville

2011   Travis Cleveland McDonald, Jr., Forest

2012   The Dominion Foundation, Richmond

2013   Stanley and Dorothy Pauley

2014   Kathleen S. Kilpatrick

2015   Robert S. and James E. Ukrop

2016   Jaan Holt

2017   Calder C. Loth

2018   Reginald N. Jones, Esq.

2020   Virginia Beach City Public Schools

2021  Alex Nyerges

2022  Storefront for Community Design