The Virginia Society AIA announces the jury chairs for the 2013 Awards for Excellence in Architecture.

Architecture Category Jury Chair: Thompson E. Penney, FAIA, Chairman/President/CEO of LS3P, headquartered in Charleston, S.C. He served as the 2003 AIA National President. Thom Penney is responsible for the overall firm management and organizational vision of his large firm as well as a design-review resource available to all project teams. He brings knowledge and familiarity with regional construction practices and extensive personal experience in design excellence.

Contextual Design Jury Chair: R. Randall Vosbeck, FAIA, was the 1981 AIA National President, cofounder of Vosbeck, Vosbeck, Kendrick & Redinger in the 1960s, worked with the Washington, D.C., office of DMJM, from which he retired and moved to Vail, Colo., in 1994. Randy Vosbeck has an abiding respect and devotion to the profession of architecture and a thorough understanding of the mid-Atlantic context.

Historic Preservation Jury Chair: Gaines B. Hall, FAIA, Associate Dean of the College of Fine and Applied Arts and the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and professor of architecture within that college. He was Vice President of Kirkegaard Associates in Chicago for 21 years and served as an AIA National Vice President in 1984. Gaines Hall also recently completed a years-long restoration of Frank Lloyd Wright’s 1900 Bradley House in Kankakee, Ill.

Interior Design Jury Chair: Jose Castillo is cofounder of arquitectura 911sc in Mexico City. He also teaches at the Harvard GSD, where he received both his master’s and doctorate degrees in architecture, and has taught at the University of Pennsylvania, Tulane, and the Universidad Iberoamericana. He has curated exhibitions for the Venice, Rotterdam, and Sao Paulo Biennales and is on the advisory board of SciArc’s Future Initiatives program.

Residential Architecture Jury Chair: David Andreozzi, AIA, based in Rhode Island, will chair the national AIA Custom Residential Architecture Network in 2014. His firm’s design philosophy is to control and organize the design and construction of every aspect of his home designs, which have been featured extensively, including on HGTV and in House Beautiful and Better Homes and Gardens. He also chairs the selection team for an upcoming book, AIA/CRAN Residential Collection | Houses for All Regions.

The 2013 Design Awards are sponsored by Donley’s.  

Enter the 2013 Design Awards>>

Leave a Reply